Mum’s the word

What can I say, Khai’s found words and he’s favourite one is ………wait for it.

It’s………………….MUM! Yes that was MUM.

He was able to say mummy but never used it unless he really wanted or needed something, in fact I’m not sure he even fully knew what it meant 100% of the time.

Friends would often ask if he calls me mum because they never ever heard him say it.

Then all of a sudden two weeks ago I heard “mum, mum” and now that’s all I hear. “Mum what you doing?” “Mum, mum want to watch Charlie Lola”, “mum, mum want yogurt” and to be honest I still can’t believe what I’m hearing, I grin like a Cheshire cat every time he says it and its a lot, about every 10 to 15 minutes and I am not exaggerating.

It’s really nice to know that he is addressing me properly, although sometimes he says it so often that I do from time to time feel like screaming “ok enough!” but then I remember how long it’s taken him to get here, to understand the meaning of the word and just how sweet the sound of him saying it really is and then I don’t want to scream anymore, I just give him a cuddle and say “yes khai, what is it?”

Leave a Reply

