Repetition of the same physical action develops into a habit

Well folks I have a little man following (mirroring) me around copying everything I do! And when I say everything I mean everything! From the way I drink a cup of tea, to how I talk and act whilst on the phone. This is nothing new he’s been doing this on and off over the years but it’s started again a few months ago after a little break. But what is becoming much more interesting and far more generously proportioned is this, if there is footwear and or a toy car, train or any other kind of motor vehicle around at my place this is what happens

Yep my son keeps doing this

And this

And hmm not forgetting  this

And this

ooh and this too

This is continuous repetitious behaviour he makes theses things between two and five times a day I’m not sure what to think about it.

 I must be truthful I like them and consider them sweet but another part of me does wonders why he is doing this, is it some kind of learning process or purely play like an alternative to building blocks although he has lots of those? Or is it just this “Repetition of the same thought or physical action develops into a habit which, repeated frequently enough, becomes an automatic reflex. ’Dr. N Peale’ Do you know? Is it just a habit?  I think it’s likely to be a bit of all the above but whatever it is he enjoys doing it and I think that’s the most important thing!

Leave a Reply

